Professors-researchers


Ten professors-researchers carry out research from different areas of expertise (material, design, maintenance, control, NDT,...) in mechanical engineering using a multidisciplinary approach inside The DYNAMO team. Over 60 Master’s and Ph. D. students are actually conducted their graduated studies inside Dynamo. The DYNAMO team members have worked for several years as experts and researchers in Quebec. They have contributed their specific experiences and efforts to joint research activities in the field of dynamics of machineries, structures and processes.

Competency matrix
Expertise Bélanger Bocher Champliaud

Dao

Fihey Guilbault Laville  Lê   Liu  Pham Thomas Viens
     
 
                 
Dynamics
 
X   X     X X   X   X  
Robotics
 
        X       X      
Vibro-acoustics
 
      X   X X   X   X  
Processes
 
    X X X     X X X   X
Maintenance
 
      X             X X
Mechanical
testing
 
  X X     X   X X X X X
Forming
 
  X X X X         X    
Metallurgy
 
  X     X              
Finite elements
 
X   X     X   X X X X  
Nondestructive
testing
 
 X                   X X
Auscultation and diagnosis                     X X
Ultrasound and Guided Wave X                      
Development of instrumentation X                      
Pierre BélangerPierre Bélanger, ing.
Ph.D. (Imperial College London)
Professor Pierre Belanger is a specialist in ultrasonic wave propagation for biomedical and industrial applications. His research interests also include development of instrumentation et modeling of complex dynamic systems.

After completing a PhD at Imperial College London in the United Kingdom on the feasibility of thickness mapping of corroded structures using ultrasonic guided waves, professor Belanger worked for 3 years for the Vodafone McLaren Mercedes Formula 1 team. At McLaren, professor Belanger worked in R&D of advanced instrumentation as well as on the car development program in the driver-in-the-loop simulator.

 Areas of expertise: Ultrasound;Guided Wave; Non-destructive control; Development of instrumentation; Modeling of dynamic systems; Control and Hydraulic system.

Philippe BocherPhilippe Bocher, Eng.
Ph.D. (McGill University)
Professor Philippe Bocher is a metallurgist specialising in metal deformation and heat treatment.  Originally from Pratt & Whitney Canada, he has gained expertise in applied manufacturing processes in the aeronautics industry, and specialised in the study of the fatigue behaviour of manufactured parts. Specifically, he has optimised brazing, welding and heat treatment processes (such as magnetic induction contour hardening),  and is especially interested in the role of residual stress in process control and service performance optimisation.

Areas of expertise: Material deformation and heat treatment; Alloy forging; Fatigue and creep of alloys and  welded parts; Residual stress measurement following hardening and welding; Contour hardening on alloys; Forging operation simulation; Crystallisation microtexture development in forgings; Material characterisation; Induction heating in precision gear assemblies; Dynamic recrystallisation of metals.


Philippe Bocher Henri Champliaud, Eng.
Ph.D. (ÉTS)
Professor Henri Champliaud is an expert in stress analysis in assemblies and mechanisms, finite element method theory and application and the nonlinear behaviour of metals and rubberlike materials. His research involves digital simulation of manufacturing processes (pressing, rolling, spinning, etc.) and of welding assembly processes, leak-tight assemblies obtained through forming, and mesh generation by kriging. Professor Champliaud previously spent 5 years working in a nuclear physics research laboratory in France.

Areas of expertise: Finite element- and experiment-based stress analysis; Geometric and material nonlinearities; Mechanisms and assemblies; Forming of thin sheets; Capsuling; Seals and contacts; Thermal, structural, modal, spectral and seismic analyses; Hybrid vehicle simulation; Simulation of manufacturing processes (welding, rolling, spinning, etc.).


Philippe Bocher Thien My Dao, Eng.
Ph.D. (Université de Sherbrooke)
Professor Thien My Dao is an expert in the study of manufacturing systems, reliability, and maintenance. His areas of focus include computer-assisted design, and the implementation and management of manufacturing systems. His development and research activities include research applied to performance analysis and reliability, optimal design/management of manufacturing systems through simulation, the neural systems approach, the evolutionary approach (Ant colony system, Tabu Search, etc.), fuzzy logic, and using the “cellular/just-in-time production” concept. Professor Dao has worked in industry for four years.

Areas of expertise: Value-added “production” approach; Computer-assisted production management; Simulation techniques; Optimal design and implementation of manufacturing systems; Manufacturing systems performance analysis.


Philippe Bocher Jean-Luc Fihey, Eng.
Ph.D. (École Polytechnique de Montréal)
Working at the Hydro-Québec research center has allowed Professor Fihey Jean Luc has to gain extensive experience in project development. Moreover, as the department director, he contributes to the development of mega projects aimed at furthering research.

Knowledge domain: Welding, Hydraulic turbines, Robotics, Grinding.


Philippe Bocher Raynald Guilbault, Eng.
Ph.D. (Université Laval)
An expert in machine power transmission element modeling, Professor Guilbault focuses on the development of mechanical design tools; specifically, static and dynamic gear assembly models, simulation of wear of contact surfaces, and the mechanical modeling of Francis hydraulic turbines. He has gained extensive industrial experience working with Alstom.

Areas of expertise: Numerical and experimental simulation of the dynamic and static behaviour of machine elements based on aging.


Philippe Bocher Frédéric Laville, Eng.
Eng. Dipl. (ENSAM, France), M.Sc., Ph.D. (Purdue, Indiana)
For over 30 years, Professor Frédéric Laville, who is an expert in industrial acoustics, has been heading research and development and consulting engineering projects in France, the United States and Canada. His research focuses on sound generation, transmission and dispersion mechanisms. His results have been integrated into the design of various products (machines, vehicles, instruments, etc.) either to reduce the risk of hearing loss or discomfort among workers exposed to noise or for approval by users (sound quality).

Areas of expertise: Industrial acoustics; Sound generation, transmission and dispersion mechanisms; Design of various products (machines, vehicles, instruments, etc.); Reduced risk of hearing loss or of discomfort among workers exposed to noise; Sound quality.


Philippe Bocher Van Ngan Lê, Eng.
B.Sc.A., M.Sc.A., D.Sc.A. (École Polytechnique de Montréal)
Professor Van Ngan Lê is an expert in assembly design and calculation, thermoplasticity, finite element method theory and application, nonlinear behaviour of materials, and industrial software applications development. He had a six-year stint in industry, working with United Aircraft, Combustion Engineering of Canada and Roger Gentner Inc.

Areas of expertise: Metal-plastic and composite assembly design and analysis; Finite element method application; Pressure tank design and analysis; Nonlinear behaviour of metals; Industrial software applications development.


Philippe Bocher Zhaoheng Liu, Eng.
B. Eng., M.Sc.A., Ph.D.(Université de Sherbrooke)
Professor Zhaoheng Liu specialises in the study of the dynamic and nonlinear behaviour of mechanical systems. He has six years of high-tech industrial experience, and has led many research and development projects whose results are currently being used in several large aerospace and automobile companies. His research work at ÉTS focuses on three areas: (i) modeling and simulation of multibody mechanical systems with contacts, (ii) control and analysis of multi-arm robotic system kinematics and dynamics, and (iii) road vehicle dynamics and control.

Areas of expertise: Stability and analysis of nonlinear dynamic system behaviour; Multibody mechanical system modeling and simulation; Vehicle dynamics; Collision detection and contact generation; Integration of CAD systems into computer-assisted manufacturing and metrology; Algorithmic geometry.


Philippe Bocher Tan Pham, Eng
Ph.D. (École Polytechnique de Montréal)
Professor Tan Pham is an expert in materials mechanics, modeling and characterisation of materials for forming processes (extrusion blow moulding, thermoforming, stamping, welding, injection moulding), software development for highly deformed finite elements, and process optimisation using digital simulation. He has over ten years of industrial research experience.

Areas of expertise: Solid mechanics; fluid flow in deformable porous media; materials modeling and characterisation; nonlinear finite element method; meshing; material forming processes (thermoplastics, composites, metals); simulation-based optimisation.


Philippe Bocher Marc Thomas, Eng.
Dipl. Eng.(INSA, Lyon), M.Sc.A, Ph.D.(Université de Sherbrooke)
Professor Marc Thomas is an expert both in theoretical and experimental vibration and machinery maintenance. He is the director of the DYNAMO laboratory in process, machinery and structural dynamics. He is titular professor at ETS in the mechanical engineering department since 20 years. Previously, Professor Thomas has been the leader of the structural Dynamics team of the Quebec Industrial Research Center (CRIQ) during 11 years. He has published over 200 articles and supervised over 16 Master and 18 Ph.D. students. He now is mentor of the Canadian Machinery Vibration Association (CMVA).

Areas of expertise: Machine vibration analysis and fault diagnosis, Design and experimental structural analysis; Design and analysis of mechanisms subjected to dynamic forces or vibration; Modal analysis; Damping; Finite elements; Control of structural vibration using smart materials; Structural health monitoring; Machinery maintenance; Risk assessment of workers subjected to vibration.


Philippe Bocher Martin Viens, Eng.
Ph.D. (Université de Sherbrooke)
Professor Martin Viens specialises in non-destructive testing, process instrumentation and inspection system modeling.  He has gained extensive industrial experience working with Pratt & Whitney Canada.

Areas of expertise:
Process instrumentation; Nondestructive evaluation and testing; Inspection system modeling; Linear system modeling and testing; Electronics and electric machines.

Professeurs-chercheurs


L'équipe DYNAMO est composée de 12 professeurs-chercheurs de l'ÉTS et de plus de 60 étudiants au niveau de la maîtrise et du doctorat. Oeuvrant depuis plusieurs années au Québec comme intervenants et chercheurs dans le domaine de la Dynamique des machines, des structures et des procédés, les membres de l'équipe DYNAMO ont réuni leurs expériences et leurs efforts dans des activités de recherche conjointes. DYNAMO est formée de professeurs du département de génie mécanique de l'ÉTS et de l'ÉTS et de plus de 60 étudiants au niveau maîtrise et doctorat.

Matrice des compétences
Expertises Bélanger Bocher Champliaud

Dao

Fihey Guilbault Laville  Lê   Liu  Pham Thomas Viens
     
 
                 
Dynamique
 
X   X     X X   X   X  
Robotique
 
        X       X      
Vibroacoustique
 
      X   X X   X   X  
Procédés
 
    X X X     X X X   X
Maintenance
 
      X             X X
Essais
mécaniques
 
  X X     X   X X X X X
Mise en forme
 
  X X X X         X    
Métallurgie
 
  X     X              
Eléments finis
 
X   X     X   X X X X  
Contrôle non
destructif
 
X                   X X
Auscultation et
diagnostic
                    X X
Ultrasons et Ondes guidées X                      
Développement de transducteur X                      

Pierre BélangerPierre Bélanger, ing.
Ph.D. (Imperial College London)
Le professeur Pierre Bélanger est spécialisé dans la propagation d'ondes ultrasonores pour des applications biomédicales et industrielles. Il s’intéresse également au développement d’instrumentation et à la modélisation de systèmes dynamiques complexes.

Après avoir complété un doctorat à l'Imperial College London en Angleterre sur l'utilisation des ondes guidées pour cartographier l'épaisseur de matériau restante de structures corrodées, le professeur Bélanger a travaillé pendant 3 ans pour l'équipe de formule 1 Vodafone McLaren Mercedes. Chez McLaren, le professeur Bélanger a participé à la R&D portant sur l'instrumentation avancée ainsi qu’au programme de développement de la voiture en simulateur..

Domaines d'expertise : Ultrasons; Ondes guidées; Contrôle non-destructif; Développement de transducteur; Modélisation de systèmes dynamiques; Contrôle et Système hydraulique.

Philippe BocherPhilippe Bocher, ing.
Ph.D. (McGill University)
Le professeur Philippe Bocher est un métallurgiste spécialiste de la déformation et des traitements thermiques des métaux. Issu de Pratt & Whitney Canada, le professeur Bocher a développé une expertise dans le domaine des procédés de fabrication appliquée au milieu industriel de l’aéronautique et s’est spécialisé dans l’étude du comportement en fatigue des pièces manufacturées. En particulier, il a optimisé des procédés de brasage, soudage et de traitement thermique (tels que la trempe de contour par induction magnétique). Il s’intéresse particulièrement au rôle des contraintes résiduelles dans le contrôle des procédés et l’optimisation des performances en service.

Domaines d'expertise : Déformation et traitement thermique des matériaux; Forge des alliages; Fatigue et fluage des alliages et pièces soudées; Mesure des contraintes résiduelles après trempe et soudage; Trempe de contour sur des alliages; Simulation d'opération de forge; Développement de microtexture cristalline dans les pièces forgées; Caractérisation des matériaux; Chauffage par induction sur des engrenages de précision; Recristallisation dynamique des métaux.


Philippe Bocher Henri Champliaud, ing.
Ph.D. (ÉTS)
Le professeur Henri Champliaud est spécialisé dans l’analyse des contraintes dans les assemblages et mécanismes, la théorie et l’application de la méthode des éléments finis et le comportement non linéaire des matériaux métalliques et caoutchouteux. Ses recherches portent sur la simulation numérique des procédés de fabrication (pressage, roulage, repoussage …) et d’assemblage par soudage, sur les assemblages étanches obtenus par formage et la génération de maillage par krigeage. Le professeur Champliaud a travaillé durant 5 ans dans un laboratoire de recherche en physique nucléaire en France.

Domaines d'expertise : Analyse des contraintes par éléments finis et expérimentations; Non-linéarités géométrique et matérielle; Mécanismes et assemblages; Formage de tôles minces, Capsulage; Étanchéité et contacts; Analyses thermique, structurale, modale, spectrale et sismique; Simulation de véhicules hybrides; Simulation de procédés de fabrication (soudage, roulage, repoussage, etc.).


Philippe Bocher Thien My Dao, ing.
Ph.D. (Université de Sherbrooke)
Le professeur Thien My Dao est spécialisé dans l’étude des systèmes manufacturiers, de la fiabilité et de la maintenance. Les champs d’intérêt du professeur Dao englobent la conception, l’implantation et la gestion assistée par ordinateur des systèmes manufacturiers. Ses activités de recherche et développement sont axées, entre autres, sur la recherche appliquée aux domaines de l’analyse de performance et fiabilité, de la conception/gestion optimale des systèmes manufacturiers par la simulation, l’approche des systèmes de neurones, la méthode évolutive (Ant Colony system, Tabu Search), la logique floue et par le concept de « production cellulaire / juste à temps ». Le professeur Dao a œuvré pendant quatre ans en industrie.

Domaines d'expertise : Approche « Production » à valeur ajoutée; Gestion de la production assistée par ordinateur; Technique de simulation; Conception et implantation optimale des systèmes manufacturiers; Analyse de performance des systèmes manufacturiers.


Philippe Bocher Jean-Luc Fihey, ing.
Ph.D. (École Polytechnique de Montréal)
Le professeur Fihey a acquis une vaste expérience en développement de projets au centre de recherche d’Hydro-Québec. Agissant également comme directeur du département, il met ses énergies dans le développement de nouveaux projets d’envergure pour développer la recherche.

Domaines d'expertise :  Soudage, turbine hydraulique, robotique, meulage.


Philippe Bocher Raynald Guilbault, ing.
Ph.D. (Université Laval)
Le professeur Raynald Guilbault est spécialisé dans la modélisation d’éléments de transmission de puissance de machines. Le professeur Guilbault s’intéresse au développement d’outils de conception mécanique. Plus spécifiquement de modèles statiques-dynamiques des engrenages, de la simulation de l’usure des surfaces en contact et de la modélisation mécanique des turbines hydrauliques Francis. Il a acquis une bonne expérience industrielle chez Alstom.

Domaines d'expertise : Simulation numérique et analyse expérimentale du comportement statique-dynamique des éléments de machines en fonction du vieillissement.


Philippe Bocher Frédéric Laville, ing.
Dipl. d'ing. (ENSAM, France), M.Sc., Ph.D. (Purdue, Indiana)
Spécialisé dans le domaine de l’acoustique industrielle, le professeur Frédéric Laville a mené depuis plus de 30 ans des travaux de recherche et développement et de génie-conseil en France, aux États-Unis et au Canada. Ses recherches portent sur les mécanismes de génération, de transmission et de rayonnement sonores. Les résultats sont intégrés dans la conception de divers produits (machines, véhicules, appareils, etc.), soit pour diminuer les risques de surdité ou la gêne des travailleurs exposés au bruit, soit pour l’agrément des utilisateurs (qualité sonore).

Domaines d'expertise : Acoustique industrielle; Mécanismes de génération, transmission et rayonnement sonore; Conception de divers produits (machines, véhicules, appareils, etc.); Diminution des risques de surdité ou gêne des travailleurs exposés au bruit; Qualité sonore.


Philippe Bocher Van Ngan Lê, ing.
B.Sc.A., M.Sc.A., D.Sc.A. (École Polytechnique de Montréal)
Le professeur Van Ngan Lê est spécialisé en design et calcul des assemblages, en thermo-plasticité, en théorie et application de la méthode des éléments finis, en comportements non linéaires des matériaux et en développement de logiciels d'application industrielle. Il a travaillé pendant six ans dans l'industrie pour United Aircraft, Combustion Engineering du Canada et Roger Gentner Inc.

Domaines d'expertise : Design et analyse des assemblages de métaux plastiques et composites; Application de la méthode des éléments finis; Design et analyse des réservoirs sous pression; Comportements non linéaires des matériaux; Développement de logiciels d'application industrielle.


Philippe Bocher Zhaoheng Liu, ing.
B.Ing., M.Sc.A., Ph.D. (Université de Sherbrooke)
Le professeur Zhaoheng Liu est spécialisé dans l’étude du comportement dynamique non-linéaire des systèmes mécaniques. Il a travaillé pendant 6 ans dans l’industrie de haute technologie où il a mené plusieurs projets de recherche et de développement dont les produits sont présentement utilisés dans plusieurs grandes entreprises du domaine aérospatial et automobile. Ses travaux de recherche à l’ÉTS portent sur trois axes : (i) la modélisation et la simulation des systèmes mécaniques multi-corps avec contact, (ii) le contrôle et l’analyse de la cinématique et de la dynamique des systèmes robotisés de type multi-bras, (iii) la dynamique et le contrôle des véhicules routiers.

Domaines d'expertise : Stabilité et analyse de comportements des systèmes dynamiques non linéaires; Modélisation et simulation des systèmes mécaniques multicorps; Dynamique des véhicules; Détection de collision et génération de contacts; Intégration de systèmes CAO dans la fabrication et la métrologie assistée par ordinateur; Géométrie algorithmique.


Philippe Bocher Tan Pham, ing.
Ph.D. (École Polytechnique de Montréal)
Le professeur Tan Pham est spécialisé en mécanique des matériaux, en modélisation et caractérisation des matériaux pour des procédés de mise en forme (extrusion-soufflage, thermoformage, estampage, soudage, moulage par injection sur renfort), en développement des logiciels d'éléments finis en grande déformation, en optimisation des procédés couplée avec simulation numérique. Il a plus de dix ans d’expérience en recherches industrielles.

Domaines d'expertise : Mécanique des solides; écoulement des fluides en milieux poreux déformables; modélisation et caractérisation des matériaux; méthode d'éléments finis non-linéaire; maillage; procédés de mise en forme des matériaux (thermoplastiques, composites, métaux); optimisation couplée avec simulation (simulation-based optimization)


Philippe Bocher Marc Thomas, ing.
Dipl.d'ing. (INSA, Lyon), M.Sc.A, Ph.D. (Université de Sherbrooke)
Le professeur Marc Thomas est spécialisé en vibration autant théorique qu’expérimentale et en maintenance des machines. Il dirige l’équipe de recherche depuis sa création et s’occupe de la maintenance des machines et de la conception des systèmes dynamiques pour limiter les problèmes de vibrations. Le professeur Thomas a agi à titre de chef du groupe Dynamique des structures du CRIQ pendant 10 ans.

Domaines d'expertise : Analyse vibratoire des machines et diagnostic de leurs défauts; Conception et analyse expérimentale de structures; Conception et analyse de mécanismes soumis à des efforts dynamiques, vibratoires ou sismiques; Analyse modale; Amortissement; Éléments finis; Contrôle actif et adaptatif des vibrations de structures; Détection d'affaiblissement de structures; Estimation du risque pour des individus soumis à des vibrations.


Philippe Bocher Martin Viens, ing.
Ph.D. (Université de Sherbrooke)
Le professeur Martin Viens est spécialisé en contrôle non destructif, instrumentation des procédés et modélisation des systèmes d’inspection. Il a acquis une bonne expérience industrielle chez Pratt & Whitney Canada.

Domaines d'expertise :
Instrumentation des procédés; Évaluation et contrôle non destructifs; Modélisation des systèmes d'inspection; Modélisation et contrôle de systèmes linéaires; Électrotechnique et machines électriques.