The Vantrix Chair

The field of digital video is exploding. IP and mobile service providers rely on a number of video applications to increase their revenue: video streaming, video conferencing and mobile collaborative applications, video messaging, mobile TV, sharing of video clips captured from mobile terminals, etc. According to the firm Infonetics Research, revenue from mobile video services more than doubled from 2005 to 2006 to reach $200 million, and tripled in 2007. The number of subscribers to mobile video services has also increased globally at the same pace, and exceeded 46 million in 2010.

Several major technological challenges must be overcome to ensure the success of these applications. For example, the quality of videos received under stringent mobile conditions (low reliability, low and variable rates) must be greatly improved. Also, the current computational requirements for video encoding at the server are not sustainable, and must be significantly reduced in order to serve all interested users. These problems are of great interest to Vantrix, a Canadian company and world leader in video optimization and delivery solutions.

Goals

The objectives of the proposed research program are to:

  • Develop new technologies for encoding / transcoding to maximize quality while minimizing calculation effort.
  • Develop efficient algorithms to enhance video quality (to eliminate the blocking artifacts, and to perform super-resolution for presentation on a PC or TV).
  • Maintain a constant technology watch of the most promising platforms for video processing, and to develop algorithms to make an efficient use of those platforms.
  • Develop new technologies for efficient dynamic use of the networks used for video transport.


Benefits

It is expected that the project results will allow Vantrix to strengthen its leadership position as a provider of multimedia delivery solutions. While its market and products were initially targeted for mobile messaging applications (Multimedia Messaging Service), Vantrix has expanded its activities to include digital video applications: streaming video, IPTV, video sharing, etc.

The technologies developed by the research program will be used for all these applications. Reducing complexity and improving the quality of the algorithms developed, especially for H.264, will make Vantrix's solutions more cost-effective and more attractive to customers. Although several competitors are addressing the issues of complexity, few of them are working on improving quality, and it is quality that will be an important differentiator in the marketplace.

Finally, research on video transport will be of great importance for Vantrix, in terms of providing "turnkey" solutions for various video applications (not only multimedia encoding and transcoding). Several other companies offer standards-based solutions which are not very innovative. Video transport is another area that has a great influence on the user's experience, and where Vantrix will be able to differentiate itself still further.

La Chaire Vantrix

Le domaine de la vidéo numérique est en plein essor. Les opérateurs de services IP et mobiles comptent sur plusieurs applications vidéo afin d’augmenter leurs revenus : vidéo en continu (video streaming), vidéo-conférences et applications collaboratives mobiles, messagerie vidéo, télévision mobile, partage de vidéo-clips capturés au terminal mobile, etc. Selon la firme Infonetics Research, les revenus engendrés par les services vidéo mobiles ont plus que doublé pour atteindre 200 millions de dollars de 2005 à 2006 et ont triplé en 2007. Le nombre d’abonnés aux services vidéo mobiles, au niveau mondial, a augmenté au même rythme et a dépassé les 46 millions de dollars en 2010.

Plusieurs défis technologiques importants devront être surmontés afin d’assurer le succès de ces applications. Ainsi, la qualité des vidéos reçus dans les conditions mobiles rigoureuses (peu de fiabilité, débits faibles et variables) doit être grandement améliorée. Aussi, les besoins en calcul requis pour l’encodage vidéo au niveau des serveurs ne sont pas soutenables et doivent être significativement réduits afin de permettre de servir tous les usagers. Ces problèmes sont d’un grand intérêt pour Vantrix, une entreprise canadienne et un chef de file mondial en optimisation et solutions de transport vidéo.


Objectifs

Les objectifs du programme de recherche proposé sont de :

  • développer de nouvelles technologies de codage/transcodage optimisant la qualité tout en minimisant les calculs;
  • développer des algorithmes efficaces pour rehausser la qualité des vidéos (éliminer les effets de blocs, effectuer de la super-résolution permettant de les présenter sur un PC);
  • mener une veille technologique constante des plateformes les plus prometteuses pour le traitement vidéo et développer des algorithmes faisant un usage efficace de ces dernières;
  • développer de nouvelles technologies permettant un usage efficace et dynamique des réseaux utilisés pour le transport : codage et décodage conjoint source canal, transferts intercellulaires, inter réseaux et intersessions sans interruption de service.


Retombées

Les résultats des projets permettront à Vantrix de renforcer son leadership et sa position de fournisseur de solutions multimédias d’avant-garde. En effet, le marché et les produits de Vantrix, initialement ciblés pour les applications de messagerie mobile (Multimedia Messaging Service), se sont étendus aux applications vidéo numériques : lecture en continu, télévision IP, partage de vidéos, etc.

Les technologies développées par le programme de recherche pourront être utilisées pour toutes ces applications. La réduction en complexité et l’amélioration de la qualité des algorithmes développés, et tout spécialement pour H.264, permettront de rendre les solutions Vantrix plus économiques et attrayantes pour les clients. Bien que plusieurs compétiteurs s'intéressent aux problématiques de complexité, peu travaillent à améliorer la qualité. Cette dernière composante deviendra un différentiateur important sur le marché.

Finalement, les recherches sur les aspects transport sont d’une grande importance pour Vantrix qui procure non seulement des solutions de codage et de transcodage de média mais de plus en plus de solutions clé en main pour diverses applications vidéo. Le transport vidéo est un domaine influençant grandement l’expérience usager où Vantrix pourra se différencier davantage.